Students, faculty, alumni nominated for Austin Critics Table Awards

Monday, June 12, 2017

Publicity still from "Momentum," which was recognized at the Austin Critics Table Awards.The nominations for the 2016-17 Austin Critics’ Table Awards were released, and many faculty, students and alumni of the College of Fine Arts made the cut. See a full list of nominations at the Austin Chronicle.

Winners were announced on June 5, and are bolded below. View the full list of winners.


Original Composition/Score

String Quartet No. 4, Yevgeniy Sharlat

Potential, line upon line percussion


Donnie Ray Albert, The Manchurian Candidate/I, Too: The Voices of Langston Hughes

Tim O’Brien, LOLA@4th Tap: January


line upon line percussion

Chamber Performance

Drumming, line upon line percussion, for Kathy Dunn Hamrick Dance Company’s More or Less 

Sacred Shadows, Ensemble VIII with Jim Morrow

Schumann Chamber Players, Austin Chamber Music Festival

Visual Art

Solo Gallery Exhibition

“Tammie Rubin: Before I Knew You, I Missed You,” de stijl | PODIUM FOR ART

“Tania Mouraud: Everyday Ogres,” UT Visual Arts Center

Group Gallery Exhibition

“ANTHROPOCENE: Jonas Hart, Dameon Lester & Melissa Loop,” grayDUCK Gallery

"Femme National(e): Audrey Brown, Christina Coleman, Kasumi Chow / Desiree Michelle Espada, Emmy Laursen, Juliana Isabel Ramirez," Pump Project

“The First Horizons of Juno: Christina Coleman, Jane Hugentober, Candice Lin, Karen Lofgren, Christine Rebet, Alice Wang and Chantal Wnuk,” MASS Gallery

“March ON!” Christian-Greene Gallery at the Warfield Center

“One/Sixth,” de stijl | PODIUM FOR ART

Independent Project

“FinalCon,” Museum of Human Achievement, Ink Tank, Dys/Mem, Drew Paryzer, and Gwar

Spam’s, The Internet Diner, Museum of Human Achievement, Rachel Stuckey, curator

XYZ Atlas, Jennifer Chenoweth

Gallery, Body of Work

Flatbed Complex

Museum of Human Achievement


Amy Hauft

Beili Liu



Buyer and Cellar (ZACH Theatre) directed by Nat Miller (M.F.A. 2008), Costume Design by Blair Hurry (B.A. 2004)

Hand to God (Capital T Theatre), Rebecca Robinson (attended)

Lungs (Hyde Park Theatre) directed by Lily Wolff (B.A. 2011), Michael Joplin (B.A. 2004)


Rudy Ramirez (current Ph.D. candidate), A Perfect Robot

Lily Wolff (B.A. 2011), Lungs

David Mark Cohen New Play Award

Dust by Nicole Oglesby (B.A. 2016)

A Perfect Robot by Sarah Saltwick (M.F.A. 2013)

Underground by Lisa B. Thompson (faculty)

The Steadfast Tin Soldier by Allen Robertson (M.F.A. 1992) and Damon Brown

With Great Difficulty, Alice Sits by Hannah Kenah (current M.F.A. in Playwriting candidate)

Performance by an Ensemble

Atlantis, A Puppet Opera (Ethos with The Vortex): Justin LaVergne (B.A. 2016), Jason Amato (attended)

The Great Society (ZACH Theatre): Shelby Davenport (B.F.A. 1996), Michael Miller (M.F.A. 1994)

Performance by an Individual

Michael Joplin (B.A. 2004), Lungs


Scenic Design

Theada Bellenger (B.A. 2006), The Adams Family

Lisa Laratta (M.F.A. 2008), Poor Herman

Costume Design

Jennifer Davis (M.F.A. 2009), Wolf Hall/Pride and Prejudice

E.L. Hohn (M.F.A. 2017), In the Red and Brown Water

Lighting Design

Don Day (B.F.A. 1975, M.F.A. 1983), John

Kate Ducey (M.F.A. 2017), The Drowning Girls


Short Work

Black is the New Black by Oluwaseun Samuel Olayiwola (current student)

Slowness by Jun Shen (M.F.A. 2016)


Kathy Dunn Hamrick (B.A. 1981), More or Less/The Four (Three) Seasons/"Salud"


Jeremy Arnold (faculty), Listen - With Ears Wide Open

Ellen Bartel (faculty), Ocean/Potential

Lisa Anne Kobdish (B.F.A. 2010), More or Less/Potential/"Salud"

Amy Marrow (faculty), Hiraeth/We've Been Here Before/Save Our Spaces Second Line March


Dance Repertory Theatre, Momentum (Texas Theatre and Dance)

Frank Wo/Men Collective, Loose Gravel: Kelsey Oliver (B.F.A. 2015), Mario Ramirez (current student), Robert Di Donato (B.A. 2016), Eric Saucedo (B.F.A. 2014)

Kathy Dunn Hamrick Dance Company, More or Less: Lisa Anne Kobdish (B.F.A. 2010), Kathy Dunn Hamrick (B.A. 1981)