College of Fine Arts News

Texas Performing Arts Displays Panels From The AIDS Memorial Quilt

Sunday, October 24, 2010   |  Texas Performing Arts

Texas Performing Arts, in partnership with AIDS Services of Austin, is proud to display panels from the AIDS Memorial Quilt honoring some of the greatest names associated with the arts, now through Monday, November 1 in the Bass Concert Hall Lobby.

Visual Arts Center to Celebrate Grand Opening Sept. 24-26

Monday, June 28, 2010   |  Department of Art and Art History

A celebration weekend in September will highlight the grand opening of the new Visual Arts Center at The University of Texas at Austin, a vibrant new collaboration and exhibition space created by the College of Fine Arts Department of Art and Art History.

Endowment Supports UT String Project

Sunday, June 20, 2010

In 2009, UT grads Ann and Malcolm Brown created the Ann Callaway Brown Endowment Fund for the UT String Project. This endowment supports the UT String Project, which serves as a nationwide example for the training of teachers and young string players. The UT String Project has received numerous national awards, including the First Education Institution Award for being the most significant program in strings among American universities and colleges, and was named 2008 String Project of the Year by the National String Project Consortium. Learn more about the Malcolm's and their inspiring support of one of the oldest string projects in the nation.

Dr. Brant Pope Appointed Chair of Department of Theatre and Dance

Sunday, June 6, 2010   |  Deprtment of Theatre and Dance

Dr. Brant Pope, currently head of the Department of Theatre at The University of Illinois, has been appointed chair of the Department of Theatre and Dance at The University of Texas at Austin, effective June 1, 2010.

Two Art and Art History Faculty Members Named 2010 Guggenheim Fellows

Wednesday, April 28, 2010   |  Department of Art and Art History

Two faculty members in the Department of Art and Art History, Lawrence McFarland and Troy Brauntuch, have each been awarded a Guggenheim Fellowship by the John Simon Guggenheim Memorial Foundation in New York City. The prestigious fellowships are granted annually, based on demonstrated achievement and exceptional promise for productive scholarship and creative ability.